Reichenau Mission situated approximately 20 km's east of Underberg, was founded in 1886 on the banks of the Pholela River. It was named after the German Monastary Island of Riechenau. The stone and brick buildings include a church with exquisite stained-glass windows, a monastary and a convent.
The Mill on the River was used until recent times, to generate electricity and is now restored with many activities. German Trappist monks invited by Chief Sakhayedwa, moved from Marian Hill to establish a school, a mill, a butchery, bakery, farm and forge, along the Pholela River. Today Reichenau Mission is home to many visitors and makes for an awesome wedding venue.